Poem about my Name

I have always wondered what was the meaning behind my name when I was in kindergarten

Because all my friends would always boast that there was something special about their names,

And they would always compare and make the meaning of their name superior than that of their friends,

But I would always crowd out, mostly because until I entered 4th grade, I did not know the proper meaning of my name,

Even until 4th grade, my curiosity would not be admonished, and so I would always ask to my mom,

“What is the meaning of my name mom?”

Always betraying my expectations, she would reply,

“I will tell you when the time comes,”

I could not understand why, but I accepted without much arguing,

One day, before I entered 4th grade elementary school in a new country, Canada, I asked,

“What is the meaning of my name mom?”

As I used to constantly for many years,

She finally answered,

“Your name means existence  of light”

Very confused, because it seemed not to be a big deal, I contentiously asked,

“And why haven’t you been telling me the simple meaning? It’s not a big deal!”

And she answered with a face of responsibility,

“I wanted to tell you when it was time that you could fulfill up to the meaning of your name. I think it is finally time for you to live by your name. Now that we moved to Canada, and there is no turning back, I wanted to remind you of something. Always be bright in times of hardship. If you are bright, always kind and generous, the barrier of culture will ultimately be demolished.”

Image Reference : http://afewbusynothings.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/a-quick-greeting/

Leave a comment